Christmas in July – On this day in 2012…a new car!

2012 Toyota Corolla S nautical blue

On this day, July 25th, 2012, I bought a brand new nautical blue Toyota Corolla S from Team Toyota.

2012 Toyota Corolla S nautical blue
2012 nautical blue Toyota Corolla S

I like it very much.  I’m happy with it.

I’ve owned only five cars since I started driving in 1991:

My first car I owned was a 1984 Chevy Camaro which was originally my Dad’s.  It was painted blue but the paint kept peeling off.  I had that car all through college though.  I had mounted stereo speakers in the back with my cassette deck stereo.  But after that bad winter ice storm in 1996, I had broken both door locks by breaking my key in the frozen locks so I could no longer lock my car without opening the hatchback and climbing through the seats to get in.  I would mostly just leave my car open after that point.

Second, was a used 1987 Honda Prelude, two-door, blue/grey color which I kind of wrecked taking the I-95 ramp from Route 1 too fast and hit the curb and guard rail.  It was a good little car though.  Except when it was really cold out, the flip-up headlights sometimes wouldn’t go up.  So sometimes you couldn’t drive it a night in the cold weather.

Next I bought a brand new 1999 silver Acura Integra.  The car would eventually get stolen just after I paid it off in five years back in 2004.  I was so pissed!  I really liked that car too.

I would then “inherit” a 1994 Toyota Camry wagon which was my Mom’s.  I drove that until it died with over 250,000 miles on it in 2012.

Now I drive a 2012 Toyota Corolla.  I hope this one lasts a long time too…

Leave a comment